Control Room

100 (or) 9440906878

Crime Stopper


Women Helpline


Child Helpline


Sri K.S. Vyas, IPS

The Vijayawada urban police district was formed in May 1983, Sri K.S.Vyas, IPS as first Superintendent of Police. It was well-equipped with vehicles and wireless facility and the police strength also increased considerably. The police district achieved good progress in regulating traffic, curbing extortion of "mamools” by rowdy elements from traders and also saved rickshaw-men and petty vendors from police harassment. This was possible, not because the Vijayawada police had more powers than elsewhere, but owing to the grit of the SP and the cooperation he got from the subordinate officers and, above all, the unquestioned support given by the Government.

Assistance for
Road Safety Activities

"Yes" to helmet and seat belt, but
"No" to mobile phone while driving

Other Pages

Welcome to Vijayawada Police

The Vijayawada Urban Police District was formed vide G.O.Ms.No.226 Home (Police) Department, dt.18-5-1983 bifurcating from Krishna District with the jurisdiction of Vijayawada Town extending upto Mulapadu of Ibrahimpatnam Mandal towards Western side, Mantada towards Eastern side, Gannavaram towards East-Western side. The population was 5.25 lakhs then. There are 10 Law & Order Police Stations, 4 Traffic Police Stations, 10 Rural Police Stations and 1 Mahila Police Station. Besides, the following staff units are also functioning.


1. Commissioner's Task Force

2. City Special Branch

3. City Crime Records Bureau

4. Unified Police Services Centre

5. Computer Section

6. Central Compliant Cell

7. Central Crime Station

8. City Training Centre

9. Central Detention and Interrogation Cell

10. Court Monitoring System

11. Police Control Room

12. Anti Hijacking

13. Finger Print Unit

14. Clues Team

15. Dog Squad

16. Cyber Cell

The population of Vijayawada Police Commissionerate reached 12 lakhs by 2010. Over the last two years, the demographic distribution within the Commissionerate has undergone massive changes. Some of the earlier rural Police Stations like Penamaluru and Nunna Rural saw rapid urbanization with lakhs of citizens settling in new colonies.

At present, the Commissionerate is functioning with

  • One Commissioner of Police in the rank of Addl. Director General of Police.
  • One Dy.Commissioner of Police in the rank of Superintendent of Police(L&O).
  • One Dy.Commissioner of Police in the rank of Superintendent of Police (Admin).
  • Three Addl. Deputy commissioners of Police for CSB, Crime and Traffic.
  • Four Asst.Commissioners of Police for East, West, Central & Traffic.
  • Two Asst.Commissioners of Police for C.A.R and C.T.C.


Photo Gallery

HIV Motor C...
Image Detail
Private Sec...
Image Detail
Flag Hostin...
Image Detail
Lightening ...
Image Detail
Image Detail
god of hono...
Image Detail
press confe...
Image Detail
Private sec...
Image Detail

Wanted Criminals

Dunna Krish...
Image Detail
Mohammad Fi...
Image Detail
Mohammad Na...
Image Detail
Mohammad Im...
Image Detail
Mohammad Sa...
Image Detail
Mohammad Qa...
Image Detail
Prem Sing, ...
Image Detail
Pariyar Jag...
Image Detail

Missing Persons

Most Wanted